I'm working hard to be someone I'll be proud of.
--Your friends at LectureNotes

Note for Transportation Engineering 2 - TE 2 By JNTU Heroes

  • Transportation Engineering 2 - TE 2
  • Note
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University Anantapur (JNTU) College of Engineering (CEP), Pulivendula, Pulivendula, Andhra Pradesh, India - JNTUACEP
  • 5 Topics
  • 1084 Offline Downloads
  • Uploaded 2 years ago
Jntu Heroes
Jntu Heroes
0 User(s)
Download PDFOrder Printed Copy

Share it with your friends

Leave your Comments

Text from page-1


Text from page-2

UNIT-1 History of Indian Railways Introduction In the year 1832 the first Railway running on steam engine, was launched in England. Thereafter on 1st of August, 1849 the Great Indian Peninsular Railways Company was established in India. On 17th of August 1849, a contract was signed between the Great Indian Peninsular Railways Company and East India Company. As a result of the contract an experiment was made by laying a railway track between Bombay and Thane (56 Kms).  On 16th April, 1853, the first train service was started from Bombay to Thane.  On 15th August, 1854, the 2nd train service commenced between Howrah and Hubli.  On the 1st July, 1856, the 3rd train service in India and first in South India commenced between Vyasarpadi and Walajah Road and on the same day the section between Vyasarpadi and Royapuram by Madras Railway Company was also opened. Subsequently construction of this efficient transport system began simultaneously in different parts of the Country. By the end of 19th Century 24752 Kms. of rail track was laid for traffic. At this juncture the power, capital, revenue rested with the British. Revenue started flowing through passenger as well as through goods traffic. Organizational structure Railway zones Indian Railways is divided into several zones, which are further sub-divided into divisions. The number of zones in Indian Railways increased from six to eight in 1951, nine in 1952 and sixteen in 2003. Each zonal railway is made up of a certain number of divisions, each having a divisional headquarters. There are a total of sixty-eight divisions. Each of the sixteen zones is headed by a general manager who reports directly to the Railway Board. The zones are further divided into divisions under the control of divisional railway managers (DRM). Sl. No Name Abbreviati on Date Establishe d Route km Headquart ers Divisions 1. Central CR 5 November 1951 3905 Mumbai 2. East Central ECR 1 October 3628 Hajipur Mumbai, Bhusawal, Pune, Solapur, Nagpur Danapur, 2

Text from page-3

2002 3. East Coast ECoR 1 April 2003 2677 Bhubaneswar 4. Eastern ER April 1952 2414 Kolkata 5. North Central NCR 1 April 2003 3151 Allahabad 6. North Eastern NER 1952 3667 Gorakhpur 7. North Western NWR 1 October 2002 5459 Jaipur 8. Northeast Frontier NFR 15 January 1958 3907 Guwahati 9. Northern NR 14 April 1952 6968 Delhi 10. South Central SCR 2 October 1966 5803 Secunderabad 11. South East Central SECR 1 April 2003 2447 Bilaspur 12. South Eastern SER 1955 2631 Kolkata 13. South Western SWR 1 April 2003 3177 Hubli 14. Southern SR 14 April 1951 5098 Chennai 15. West Central WCR 1 April 2003 2965 Jabalpur Dhanbad, Mughalsarai, Samastipur, sonpur Khurda Road, Sambalpur and Waltair (Visakhapatn am) Howrah, Sealdah, Asansol, Malda Allahabad, Agra, Jhansi Izzatnagar, Lucknow, Varanasi Jaipur, Ajmer, Bikaner, Jodhpur Alipurduar, Katihar, Rangia, Lumding, Tinsukia Delhi, Ambala, Firozpur, Lucknow, Moradabad Vijayawada, Hyderabad, Guntakal, Guntur, Nanded, Secunderabad Bilaspur, Raipur, Nagpur Adra, Chakradharpu r, Kharagpur, Ranchi Hubli, Bangalore, Mysore Chennai, Trichy, Madurai, Salem,[12] Palakkad,Thir uvananthapur am Jabalpur, 3

Text from page-4

16. Western WR 5 November 1951 17 Kolkata metro rail KNR 29 DEC 2010 6182 Mumbai Kolkata Bhopal, Kota Mumbai central, Ratlam, Ahmedabad, Rajkot, Bhavnagar, Vadodara Kolkata Subsidiaries of Indian Railways There also exist independent organizations under the control of the Railway Board for electrification, modernization, research and design and training of officers, each of which is headed by an officer of the rank of general manager. A number of Public Sector Undertakings, which perform railway-related functions ranging from consultancy to ticketing, are also under the administrative control of the Ministry of railways. There are fourteen public undertakings under the administrative control of the Ministry of Railways: Bharat Wagon and Engineering Co. Ltd. (BWEL)  Centre for Railway Information Systems (CRIS)[24]  Container Corporation of India Limited (CONCOR)  Dedicated Freight Corridor Corporation of India Limited (DFCCIL)  Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation Limited (IRCTC)  Indian Railway Construction (IRCON) International Limited  Indian Railway Finance Corporation Limited (IRFC)  Konkan Railway Corporation Limited (KRCL)  Mumbai Railway Vikas Corporation (MRVC)  Railtel Corporation of India Limited (Rail Tel)  Rail India Technical and Economic Services Limited (RITES)  Rail Vikas Nigam Limited (RVNL)  High Speed Rail Corporation of India (HSRC)  Burn Standard Company 4

Lecture Notes